In just a little over four months, Star Wars: The Force Awakens, director J.J. Abrams’ stab at the Star Wars saga, will debut on the silver screen, following up on what happened to Luke Skywalker, Han Solo, Princess Leia, and the rest of your favorite scruffy-looking nerf herders 30 years after the events of Return of the Jedi. However, while we know that the new episode will feature old and new characters alike, what happened immediately after the events of the Empire’s second Death Star going kablooey after that suave, debonair Lando led a Rebel force to make it go boom? Fans have had their theories for years (and some of those have been explored in the now non-canonical Dark Horse comics tales). Now, this September, writer Greg Rucka and artist Marco Checchetto will explore what happens when a broken Empire, under no direct leadership, lashes and thrashes violently at its enemies in Journey to Star Wars: The Force Awakens – Shattered Empire #1 from Marvel Comics. Check out these preview pages that Marvel was kind enough to share!

Just as with the anticipated film, Shattered Empire will focus on new characters and how they fit into the House That Lucas Built. Personally, I’m curious as to whether the families of all those killed Stormtroopers will get insurance checks for their lost loved ones. However, judging from the official press release below, I’m kinda doubting it.

Charge headlong into a new era of Star Wars comics as the first Marvel series to take place after Return of the Jedi kicks off this September! Today, Marvel is proud to present your first look at JOURNEY TO STAR WARS: THE FORCE AWAKENS – SHATTERED EMPIRE #1 – a brand-new series from the critically acclaimed creative team of Greg Rucka and Marco Checchetto. High above the forest moon of Endor, the Rebel Alliance makes their desperate last stand against the might of the Empire. Though they are successful in the destruction of the second Death Star, the Empire is far from beaten. Now, follow Shara Bey, an A-Wing pilot in the Rebel Fleet in the days following the Battle of Endor. Though their super weapon has been destroyed, Shara will discover that just how dangerous and unpredictable a shattered Empire can be! Don’t miss the explosive first issue as Marvel takes a deeper look into a part of the Star Wars universe yet unexplored in JOURNEY TO STAR WARS: THE FORCE AWAKENS – SHATTERED EMPIRE #1 comes to comic shops on September 2nd!

Written by GREG RUCKA


Cover by PHIL NOTO
Variant Cover by MARCO CHECCHETTO (JUL150769)
Movie Variant Also Available (JUL150768)
Hyperspace Variant Also Available (JUL150770)

Blank Variant Also Available (JUL150771)
FOC – 08/10/15, On-Sale – 09/02/15

You can check out Journey to Star Wars: The Force Awakens – Shattered Empire #1 when it hits comic shops on September 2nd. In the meantime, sate your nerd hunger by viewing a trailer for Star Wars: The Force Awakens another 10 times or so.

Related: Review of Darth Vader #1